Current Time: 15:26:04 PDT

What's Up?

If you are experiencing a problem that has not been reported here, check our web panel for more information.

(Please remember, posting in the comments here IS NOT an official way to contact DreamHost.)

Search

Pages

Categories

Other Stuff

3:58 pm

Craigslist is blocking messages sent from Webmail

Posted (February 18th, 2009 at 3:58 pm PST) by andrea

Craigslist has been blocking messages sent from DreamHost webmail for the past week or so. We have contacted them a couple of times since, asking them to whitelist us, or provide us spam evidence so that we can take action. We haven’t received an answer yet. They have been much more responsive in the past, so we’re hoping to get this resolved asap as well.

We apologize for the inconvenience this is causing. It’s only affecting webmail sending, all other ones are fine. Please check back here for updates.

This entry was posted on Wednesday, February 18th, 2009 at 3:58 pm and is filed under Email Issue, Webmail Outages. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

6 Responses to “Craigslist is blocking messages sent from Webmail”

This is really crimpin’ my casual encounters style.

Having the same problem with a service called “Barracuda.” They’ll whitelist a client for me if I pay them a fee (Interestingly, the client doesn’t have to change any behavior, just pay the fee) but they have steadfastly refused point-blank my repeated requests to tell me what this client does that gets them listed (if I knew, I’d make them stop doing it) and they’re the only service that has this particular client listed.

I wonder if Craigslist is using Barracuda?

When you say “contacted them” … which method of correspondence was used?
Hate to state the obvious (actually I don’t mind it so much) … but contacting them through webmail might explain why you haven’t received an answer yet.
;)

… just bein cheeky …

Webmail? No. Both email (coming from two different servers) and telephone calls have been stonewalled. Their only answer is to refer you to a policy statement that is no more helpful (and only a tiniest bit more specific) than saying they listed you because you’re breathing. I can’t fix a problem when I don’t know what’s causing it.

I suspect, however, they’re just running an electronic version of the old protection racket: “That’s a right fine email you got there, son, be a shame if anything happened to it, now, wouldn’t it? Pay us a small fee and we can all avoid having it blocked.”

@Arlen

A Barracuda is a spam firewall device that is client dependent. We us them for most of our clients where I work and even filter our own mail through one. Depending on where you are sending to, you can check and see if that domain’s administrators can whitelist you for that domain so that you can send mail to them. Another possible reason for your mail being blocked is that the Admin of whatever domain the barracuda filters for might still have old RBL’s configured in the Barracuda. Per current Barracuda recommendations, only the Zen.spamhaus.com RBL should be configured. All other have been hacked in the past and are therefor no longer reliable. When some of the RBL’s shut down, they disable and drop all incoming RBL look ups, which is what should happen. Sometimes, due to the sheer amount of lookup traffic, the RBL admins will start replying to every request, which means that the entire world is blacklisted. In this case, any filter, Barracuda or otherwise, that is configured to use that RBL will start blocking all mail as spam. So you see, if you have already checked and confirmed that you are not on a legitimate RBL, then it is more likely that the Barracuda is configured incorrectly. Email the admin of the domain where you are trying to send a message to and talk to them. They will be more likely to help you. :)

Let me know if you still are having issues on here and I can try to assist more if you would like.

 
© 1996-2009, DreamHost.com
Entries (RSS) and Comments (RSS).